Review REDEMPTION ‘I Am the Storm’

Nick Van Dyk and Bernie Versailles started Redemption in 2001 and after Versailles took a break due to an aneurysm, it is Van Dyk who takes the band forward.

I first became aware of Redemption between 2005 and 2017 when they had with Ray Alder a singer whom I already appreciated on the Fates Warning records. After Alder left the band in 2017, Redemption could recruit with Evergrey frontman Tom S. Englund another singer of international class. Englund made his debut on 2018’s ‘Long Night’s Journey Into Day’ and now it is ‘I Am the Storm’ with which Redemption adds another milestone to their discography.

With Redemption, technical versatility meets powerful riffing, which is evident right away with the opener. It is the title track that kicks off the album and it is a thunderous power metal track that blasts out at you. With unique vocal lines, the song immediately impresses on the first listen and even though the band is at home in progressive metal, the guys know very well how to write killer tunes.

Another highlight on ‘I am the Storm’ is the eight-minute ‘Remember the Dawn’. One is inclined to compare the song to bands like Dream Theater and yet Redemption have aslightly different basic approach. The song itself is more in the center of attention, which makes the cinematic ‘Remember the Dawn’ an extremely pleasing and sophisticated metal track. Musical prowess meets emotional charisma here; a combination that fascinates.

Also interesting is that the band has put two cover versions on the album. Both show where the band’s musical imprint is to be found. Firstly, Redemption have taken on ‘Turn it on Again’ by Genesis and secondly, they cover a Peter Gabriel song with ‘Red Rain’. Both versions are heavier than the original and ‘Turn it on Again’ sounds like a very accomplished AOR hit. ‘Red Rain’ is also harder than the original, but stays relatively close to Peter Gabriel’s version. Standing out on both songs is Tom S. Englund, who has to compete with iconic singers and can hold his own in comparison on these two tracks.

In addition, one is offered two versions of ‘The Emotional Deception of Light’. The song was originally penned by keyboarder Vikram Shankar while the song idea took another direction in collaborative work. Redemption serves the listener both versions.

Overall, we can state that ‘I am the Storm’ has become an excellent progressive metal album. From the songwriting to the musical versatility to the sound, everything fits together here and you can feel at every second that here are experts in their field.

Photo: Stephanie Cabral

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. I Am the Storm          
  2. Seven Minutes from Sunset  
  3. Remember the Dawn
  4. The Emotional Depiction of Light     
  5. Resilience       
  6. Action at a Distance  
  7. Turn It On Again (Genesis cover)                  
  8. All this Time (and Not Enough)         
  9. The Emotional Depiction of Light (Remix)      
  10. Red Rain (Peter Gabriel cover)

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Progressive Metal

Release Date EU: March 17th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: