Review ENDLEVEL ‘Weekend War’

That Southern Germany has generated some famous metal bands, is not a new fact. If you think of Destruction, Primal Fear,… etc. then it shows that Swabia also has a lot to offer musically.

A band that is not completely new, but also not really established yet are Endlevel from Albstadt. Jonas Frey (drums), Ken Ratheiser (guitar), Robin Willkommen (guitar), Kai Bez (bass) and Robin Richard (vocals), these are the five guys from Endlevel, which debuted in 2017 with ‘Time to Kill’. With ‘Weekend War’ the youngsters now follow up and once again indulge in their passion for heavy sounds.

A mixture of thrash metal and oldschool death metal is what the five have to offer and what comes out of the boxes is not too bad. While the guitars and tightly working rhythm section tend more towards thrash metal, it’s the deep vocals and growls of frontman Robin Richard that shift the sound towards death metal. Songs like ‘Drink Beer’ sound a bit like Tankard in death metal style, not only because of the lyrics. And then there are the moments like in ‘Nuclear Inferno’, which make me think of Sodom. Also worth to be checked out is thr grooving ‘Slaves to Instinct’ which is a headbangers delight.

Thematically, the guys are broadly positioned, since they offer everything from party mood (‘Drinking Beer’) to more serious topics (‘Nuclear Inferno’) and thus remind of a successful mix of the 80s metal heroes.

In addition, it is noticeable that Endlevel’s second album is provided with a very powerful sound, which yet appears clean and differentiated. Fans of the more aggressive metal sounds should definitely listen to ‘Weeḱend War’.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Intro
  2. Unleash War
  3. Drink Beer
  4. Headache Terror
  5. Hangover from Hell
  6. Nuclear Inferno
  7. Possessed by Trinity
  8. Slaves to Instinct
  9. Division 1516
  10. Panzerheer 666
  11. Beer

Label: Violent Creek

Genre: Thrash-/Death Metal

Release Date EU: February 24th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: