Review SANGUISUGABOGG ‘Homicidal Ecstasy’

The good thing with ‘Homicidal Ecstasy’ is the fact, that the Sanguisugabogg album includes a sheet with vocals. This is mainly since Devin Swank ‘pukes’ out his growls in a way that you basically are impressed but don’t follow of what he is singing, or better growling.

The band from Columbus, Ohio started in 2019 with a demo and a few singles. Those caught the attention of Century Media who signed the band and released their debut album ‘Torture Whole’. The album found its way into the record stores in 2021 and releasing a debut in the middle of a pandemic was probably not the best moment since the guys could fully promote their first album while being on tour.

These days preconditions improved and therefor the quartet should have a better starting point when now launching their sophomore record ‘Homicidal Ecstasy’.

Sanguisugabogg recorded twelve new song, all massive riff monsters. Musically the band connects to genre greats like Cannibal Corpse and Six Feet Under. This has a lot to do with the way of growling since Swank’s vocals come from the deep inside. What makes Sanguisugabogg slightly different is the tempo of their songs. Although being build on deadly riff attacks the pace, with a few exceptions, is kept rather slow compared to some genre companions. The intensity of these songs doesn’t rise through frantic speed. It is more the thundering riffs and the massively working rhythm sections that slams each of the song right into your mind.

‘Homicidal Ecstasy’ is an album that should great some joy with fans of brute death metal. Although the record gets a bit lengthy after a while there is still enough to discover which avoids pressing the ‘pause’-button since the call from the abyss is too tempting.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Black Market Vasectomy
  2. Face Ripped Off
  3. Pissed
  4. Testicular Rot
  5. Hungry for your Insides
  6. Skin Cushion
  7. A Lesson in Savagery
  8. Narcissistic Incisions
  9. Mortal Admonishment
  10. Proclamation of the Frail
  11. Necrosexual Deviant
  12. Feening for Bloodshed

Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: January 27th, 2023



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: