Review LIV SIN ‘KaliYuga’

After Swedish metal group Sister Sin disbanded in 2015 singer Liv Jagrell started with Liv Sin a new band. Premiering in 2016 with ‘Follow Me’ the band unleashed their sophomore album ‘Burning Sermons’ in 2019. Another three years late the next record will hit the shelves, a longplayer called ‘KaliYuga’.

The band’s third longplayer features ten songs, tracks with riffpower and, no doubt, the energetic vocals of Jagrell. In general, the band lasers in on heavy metal which they give a modern touch. ‘Forget My Name’ is one of these pounding tunes with a modern riffing which in parts reminds me of Rammstein.

One thing is for sure. Liv Sin spread a lot of power with their songs. It starts with ‘The Process’, the opener, which is a good start but not the best song on the album. The exciting ‘Antihero’ is the next song on the tracklist and lifts the bar. Melody, heaviness and a create variation of loud and calm, that is what makes ‘Antihero’ to a hero of the album.

‘I am the Storm’ is another well-crafted headbanger on the album and shows the width of sounds. Liv Sin built the song on heavy riffs and at the same time embed calmer moments, providing a good flow and excitement throughout. ‘I am the Storm’ also presents the vocal range of Liv Jagrell – from clean and soulful singing to growl-ish moments.

Although we all had enough virus to deal with, this one is worth to approach. The song starts calm before guitar and vocals bring heaviness to the tune.

‘KaliYuga’ is an album that doesn’t live by jaw-dropping innovation. It is the solidly applied craftsmanship which makes each of the tracks to a headbanging experience. Liv Sin deliver heavily pounding heavy metal and it doesn’t need much more than that to have a good time.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. The Process
  2. Antihero
  3. King Of Fools
  4. Forget My Name
  5. Karma
  6. I Am The Storm
  7. Virus
  8. D.E.R.
  9. The Swarm
  10. Horizon On Black

Label: Mighty Music / target Group

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: January 27th, 2023




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: