Review SABU ‘Banshee’

Paul Sabu has been one of the greats of the rock music business for more than 30 years. The singer, guitarist and producer began in 1979 with a debut album, which was simply named ‘Sabu’. This was the beginning of a career that brought solo albums, but also fueled many collaborations with well-known artists. Alice Cooper, Heart, Lee Aaron and David Bowie; these are just a few of the names Sabu has worked with.

Now, Frontiers Music has signed the musician and producer and what follows is a new Sabu solo album. ‘Banshee’, is the name of the new record and there are eleven new songs that bring all of Sabu’s class to the surface. Hard rock and AOR at its best is what is presented on this album.

With ‘Blinded Me’ Sabu goes straight into the full swing. Sabu shows that he can combine a proper heaviness with great melodies, which makes the opener a delight for your ears. He knows how to present catchy rock songs in a good shape. We continue with the title track which goes more towards AOR before with ‘Kandi’ a throbbing rock song blows out of the speakers, offering its full potential in the chorus.

In addition, songs like the rougher ‘Back Side of Water’ and faster ‘Rock’ are worth a listen. The fact that ‘Turn the Radio On’ is a catchy song is certainly not a coincidence, as the song is quite suitable for airplay.

Sabu doesn’t run out of steam towards the end of ‘Banshee’ by any means. ‘Midnight Road to Madness’ and ‘Rock the House’ are the very fitting ending of a record that is a pleasure to listen to more than once.

‘Banshee’ is the first Sabu album since the 1998 release of ‘Between the Light’. Paul Sabu has not lost his fine sense for first class rock songs and shows the new generation on ‘Banshee’ how well made rock music should sound.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Blinded Me
  2. Banshee
  3. Kandi
  4. Love Don’t Shatter
  5. Back Side Of Water
  6. Skin To Skin
  7. Rock
  8. Turn The Radio On
  9. Dirty Money
  10. Midnight Road To Madness
  11. Rock The House

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: December 9th, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: