Review DESTRÖYER 666 ‘Never Surrender’

“No compromise, no sell out, no bullshit”, that’ s what it says in the info sheet of Deströyer 666‘s latest album ‘Never Surrender’ and summarizes the nine songs in a concise way. What the guys deliver on their sixth longplayer is an ode to blackened thrash metal that is bursting with energy.

Already with the title track, which opens the record, it becomes obvious that the band is not willing to compromise. The songs slam directly into your face and you can’t escape the fascination of this unbridled energy. From second 1 the guys give everything in their power and fascinate the listener.

The furious ‘Andraste’ is in no way inferior to the opener and also the following ‘Guillotine’ makes a lot of noise. Deströyer 666 are oldschool in the best sense and defy all trends. In return, the thrash metal of the 80s is transported into the present time, which can be clearly recognized in songs like ‘Mirror’s Edge’ and ‘Savage Rights’, which is reminding of Kreator.

A bit more expansive is ‘Grave Raiders’. The song has a solid length of 5 minutes and shows that Deströyer 666 also know how to give their blackened metal a partly traditional expression without losing the ferocity; not to mention a chorus that is made for shout-along moments during live shows.

Deströyer 666 have done everything right on ‘Never Surrender’ and you can’t do anything wrong when buying the album. The quartet doesn’t give up, and that’s a good thing.

Rating: 9 out of 10.


  1. Never Surrender
  2. Andraste
  3. Guillotine
  4. Pitch Black Night
  5. Mirror’s Edge
  6. Grave Raiders
  7. Savage Rights
  8. Rather Death
  9. Batavia’s Graveyard

Label: Season Of Mist

Genre: Blackened Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: December 2nd, 2022



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: