Review TARJA ‘Best Of: Living the Dream’

Tarja needs no introduction, as the soprano is one of the icons of symphonic metal. Tarja became well-known, among other things, because of her successful years with Nightwish.

After leaving the Finnish chart-stormers, the singer started a solo career, which impresses until today. With ‘Henkäys ikuisuudesta’ and ‘My Winter Storm’, Tarja set first standards. The debut album is a classical album with Christmas songs, which on the one hand was a bold career move, but at the same time also represents the diversity of the Finn. In this context, the ‘Christmas Together’ shows should also be mentioned, which Tarja will play at selected locations this December.

With ‘Best Of: Living the Dream’, Tarja looks back on the past 15 successful years and offers fans a very good overview when it comes to her musical achievements. This includes highlights like ‘My Winter Storm’, Colours in the Dark’ and also ‘The Brightest Void’. Most of the songs have been remastered for the album and of course the successful collaborations with other artists can’t be missing on this record. The well-known ‘Demons in You’ with Arch Enemey‘s Alissa White-Gluz is present as well as ‘Dead Promises’, which the singer performs together with Björn ‘Speed’ Strid.

With ‘Eye of the Strom’ also a new song made it on the album; an emotional hymn in which Tarja combines the influences of Finland and Argentina while reflecting on her inner challenge of where to belong to. What might be even more interesting for fans is that some formats (CD/BluRay Mediabook & Box Set) also include the two-hour ‘Circus Life’ concert, which was previously unreleased and now brings a special moment into the living rooms of fans.

Together with some extra goodies this release sums up Tarja’s work very well; a singer who feels at home at the Wacken Festival as well as at concerts in a church, impressing her fans with her voice and personality.

Rating: 0 out of 10.

no score

Tracklist (Vinyl):

Side A

1. Eye of the Storm
2. I Walk Alone (Single Version)
3. Die Alive (Alternative Version)
4 . Enough

Side B

1. Falling Awake feat. Jason Hook Solo
2. Until My Last Breath (Single Version)
3. I Feel Immortal (Radio Remix)
4. Victim Of Ritual

Side C

1. 500 Letters
2. Never Enough
3. Innocence (Radio Edit)
4. Demons In You feat. Alissa White-Gluz

Side D

1. Diva
2. Dead Promises feat. Björn “Speed” Strid
3. Tears In Rain
4. You And I (Band Version

Label: ear Music

Genre: Symphonic Metal

Release Date EU: December 2nd, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: