Review HOUSE OF LORDS ‘Saints and Sinners’

Even though the term ‘supergroup’ is used almost inflationary these days, House Of Lords were certainly one in their early days. Besides singer James Christian there were Gregg Griuffria, Chuck Wright, Ken Mary and Lanny Cordola on board; all well-sounding names.

This quintet had a major influence on melodic metal and delivered a timeless classic with their second album ‘Sahara’.

In the course of time, there have been several line-up changes and even though House Of Lords never really delivered bad records, the band led by James Christian was not able to replicate their early successes. Even the newest album ‘Saints and Sinners’ will not change this.

House Of Lords continue to trust in their basic musical formula of the previous releases. On their eleventh studio album great melodies, feeling and also a certain hardness are in use. And as you would expect, it is the voice of bandleader Christian which is the main driving element on ‘Saints and Sinners’.
AOR, that is the main musical direction which manifests itself in songs like ‘Take It All’. If you prefer the rockier sounds though, you should try your luck with ‘Road Warrior’. The brisk rock song has a lot of momentum before House Of Lords build the big melody arches with ‘Mistress of the Dark’.

The one who expects the unstoppable power of an avalanche with ‘Avalanche’ will be disappointed, because it is a piano ballad, which soulfully tries to find its way into the heart of the listener. But in order not to get completely lost in the maelstrom of emotions, ‘Roll Like Thunder’ follows, perhaps the best song on the album. Christian and colleagues really kick it up a notch and one wonders why they don’t do this more often.

‘Saints and Sinners’ is a rock solid album. James Christian remains true to his musical principles and delivers a record that offers beautiful melodies, a lot of emotion and sometimes a portion of hardness. Thus, the singer meets all expectations and satisfies the established listeners without taking big risks.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Saints And Sinners
  2. House Of The Lord
  3. Take It All
  4. Road Warrior
  5. Mistress Of The Dark
  6. Avalanche
  7. Roll Like Thunder
  8. Razzle Dazzle
  9. Dreamin It All
  10. Takin My Heart Back
  11. Angels Fallen

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: September 16th, 2022


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: