Anthrax‘s 40th birthday fell on a year that was characterized by the pandemic. Concerts and tours were in the far distance and yet the five metal veterans didn’t want to let the date pass by just like that. Since livestreaming was the only real way to play live at the time, the guys got together on July 6, 2021 at The Den at 20ft Bear Studios, Los Angeles to broadcast a livestream show to the world.

With a total of 25 songs, this particular concert included an extensive setlist. It’s not surprising, considering Anthrax has released quite a lot of stuff in four decades. Well, at this point a small note. ‘XL’ musically covers only the Belladonna years of the band. What is completely missing in this retrospective are songs from the John Bush era. This is a pity, because albums like ‘The Sound of White Noise’ and ‘Stomp 442’ contain great songs, which would have been good to add to this special moment.

However, ‘XL’ still offers a lot of Anthrax riff power and draws mostly on old classics from ‘Among the Living’ and ‘Spreading the Disease’. As a metal fan who discovered the world of hard riff music for himself in the 80’s, songs like ‘A.I.R’, ‘Caught in a Mosh’,… are highlights that are always a pleasure to listen to. Even ‘Keep it in the Family’, which has not been played live for a long time, can be found on the tracklist.

In addition, four very well-known and appreciated cover versions are also included. Chuck D supports the band on ‘Bring the Noise’ and also Joe Jackson’s ‘Got the Time’ as well as ‘Protest and Survive’ by Discharge have found a spot on the setlist. And it’s almost a no-brainer that ‘Antisocial’ can’t be missing either.

All in all, ‘XL’ is a well done Anthrax compilation, even if, as I said, it only features the Belladonna era. Nevertheless, the record is fun and is best suited for a mini- mosh pit in your own living room.

Rating: 0 out of 10.

No score


  1. Time/Fight Em ’Til You Can’t
  2. Madhouse
  3. Caught In A Mosh
  4. Metal Thrashing Mad
  5. Got The Time
  6. I Am The Law
  7. Keep It In The Family
  8. Lone Justice
  9. The Devil You Know
  10. Be All End All
  11. Now It’s Dark
  12. Antisocial
  13. In The End
  14. Medusa
  15. Evil Twin
  16. Indians
  17. Skeletons In The Closet
  18. Blood Eagle Wings
  19. Bring The Noise
  20. A.I.R.
  21. Among The Living

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: July 15th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: