Review LESSMANN/VOSS ‘Rock is Our Religion’

When the German rock/metal icons Claus Lessmann and Michael Voss announce a new album, it raises expectations. Both musicians belong to a generation of musicians who have helped shape melodic rock/metal in Germany. Claus Lessmann, his voice is connected with Bonfire and Michael Voss is the driving force of Mad Max. Voss has also gained credits as a producer and has been part of several other bands/projects.

The two veterans have now joined forces as Lessmann/Voss and release ‘Rock is Our Religion’, an album that gives hope for great things to come. Already the title promises a rock firework.

Unfortunately, ‘Rock is Our Religion’ can not fully meet the expectations. Songs like ‘Runaway Days’ and ‘Medicine Man’ sound rather ponderous. They lack the last punch, something that can be expected from such experienced musicians. None of the songs is bad, but also gives the impression that the handbrake is still on.

Moreover, lyrics like “This is a slow dance, made for romance” and “We’ll fight for our love when the road is tough” are certainly not the most innovative either. Cliches are pulled out of the hat in this case. If you don’t care about the lyrics, you will certainly be able to come to terms with this. Nevertheless, the songs remain, which simply lack the sparking moment.

To sum up, ‘Rock is Our Religion’ is a kind of missed opportunity. These songs are certainly not the expected homage to the powerful riff and carry the risk that this longplayer will drown in the depths of the large number of new releases.

Rating: 6 out of 10.


  1. Medicine Man
  2. Smoke Without A Fire
  3. Runaway Days
  4. Fight For Our Love
  5. Take My Heart And Run
  6. Slow Dance
  7. Rock Is Our Religion
  8. Something Is Better Than Nothing
  9. Look Around
  10. Stay
  11. Sister Golden Hair (America cover)
  12. What Feels Right

Label: Atomic Fire Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: July 15th, 2022

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: