Review LAND OF GYPSIES ‘Land Of Gypsies’

Land Of Gypsies is a L.A.-based rock outfit that you might also know as Gang Of Souls. As many Frontiers Music project also Land Of Gypsies a the collaboration of two musicians. This time Terry Ilous (XYZ, ex-Great White) and, differently to other cooperations, it is a bass player that works together with the singer. Fabrizio Grossi handles the four-string guitar while Serge Simic is on guitar (The Slam, Supersonic Blues Machine) and Tony Morra on drums.

Giving themselves the time to work on songs, also based on the pandemic, the quartet developed their sound and wrote songs. Musically, Land Of Gypsies can be located in the fields of classic rock and hard rock. Bands like Bad Company and Foreigner are surely no strangers to Ilous and bandmates.

The opener ‘Believe’ shows the Foreigner reference clearly with a beginning, reminding very much of Foreigner ‘Juke Box Hero’. OK, along the way the song takes a bit of a different direction, but the source of inspiration is rather dominant in the verse.

Another song I would like to mention is the grooving and very rhythmic ‘Somewhere Down the Line’. It’s one of the best songs on the album and starts to spread a good vibe right away. The dynamic chorus and the pumping rock’n’roll heart is what makes the tune to a good one.

‘Run Away’ shows some potential too and ‘Long Summer Day’ is the well-crafted soundtrack for exactly such a day with warm sun-rays and a refreshing breeze. There is always a bluesy feeling that comes with the songs on the album and ‘Rambling Man’ makes it obvious. The Whitesnake-ish verse of the song carries a lot of blues that is well blended with some solid rock riffs.

Land Of Gypsies’ new album has no real weak spot. It isn’t the jaw-dropping album either, but it spreads for sure a good vibe. It brings some light and a good spirit into the dark days of winter, something we all deserve.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Believe
  2. Shattered
  3. Trouble
  4. Give Me Love
  5. Somewhere Down The Line
  6. Rescue Me
  7. Ordinary Man
  8. Run Away
  9. Long Summer Day
  10. Rambling Man
  11. Get It Right

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: December 10th,2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: