Review AT THE MOVIES ‘The Soundtrack of Your Life – Vol.2’

The musical excursion of Chris Laney into the world of movies and soundtracks, which he started in 2020 together with Allan Sørensen, continues. Based on an idea the grew during the COVID lockdown, the project gained momentum and the idea of ‘The Soundtrack of Your Life’ was received very well by fans and media. As a consequence, At The Movies started to work on a vol.2 of this small series, lasering on the soundtracks hits from the ‘90s.

As with the first album, also the sophomore release features songs that are known by everybody, regardless how deep you are into metal. With the help of some friends (Björn Strid, Linnéa Vikström, Morton Sandager, Pontus Egberg and Pontus Norgren), At The Movies brings new life to songs like ‘When You Say Nothing at All’, originally part of the ‘Notting Hill’ movie soundtrack.

Regardless of if you like, at least some of the movies and if you have been convinced by your partner to watch some of them, the songs are well-known pop anthems. To give them a bit more of a rock spirit is an idea that isn’t new, and it still works. ‘Crush’, or Britney Spears’ ‘(You Drive Me) Crazy’ are good songs that shine even brighter on this release. And suddenly, a Backstreet Boys song, ‘I Want it That Way’, doesn’t sound very embarrassing anymore.

‘The Soundtrack of Your Life Vol.2’ picks it up where At The Movies left off with their first longplayer. Catchy music with good vibes is what fans of rock music get offered by this release. The fun and joy factor is the most important part of this record, as it also was with premier album of this mini-series. So, turn up the volume, chant along and enjoy life.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Waiting For A Star To Fall
  2. King Of Wishful Thinking
  3. The One And Only
  4. When You Say Nothing At All
  5. (I Just) Died In Your Arms
  6. (You Drive Me) Crazy
  7. Heaven Is A Place On Earth
  8. Crush
  9. I‘ve Been Thinking About You
  10. Venus
  11. I Want It That Way

Label: Atomic Fire Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: January 7th, 2022




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: