Review THE LURKING FEAR ‘Death, Madness, Horror, Decay’

‘Death, Madness, Horror, Decay’, such an album title doesn’t announce the happy and if the first title is called ‘Abyssal Slime’ things are very apparent. Here we are standing in front of a hellish portal with twelve chapter of lunatic death metal.

Hellish sounds start-off the opener ‘Abyssal Slime’ and you can almost feel how the creepy underworld takes over your soul. What follows is an oldschool death metal inferno the Swedish way. The quintet, that premiered in 2017 with ‘Out of the Violence Grave’, pick it up where they left-off a few years ago and although the band is rather new, the members are veterans when it comes to death metal. Here are experts at work.

The Lurking Fear doesn’t take care about long and epic songs. There preference goes towards massive riff grinding which is manifested by songs like the furious ‘Cosmic Macabre’. In an almost seamless fashion one song follows the other.

The Lurking Fear never reduces speed. A high pace is one element of these twelve blasts but to not become too predictable, the quintet integrates tempo-changes like with the title track. The massive and bit slower beginning evolves to a next high-speed track that constantly alternates between the poles without losing any intensity. Talking about the title track means also to mention Tomas Lindberg’s deep growl in the beginning and it’s his raspy growls and screams that acts as one trademark for the band.

‘Death, Madness, Horror, Decay’ is like a musical hurricane that sucks you in after having started the record and spits you out with a five-minute track called ‘Leech of the Aeons’. Five minutes, that means almost prog length in the context of this album. A gloomy and oppressive vibe is embedded in the beginning of this song before the death metal beast takes over again. The hellish solo part in the middle of the track creates a cool counterpart to the roaring riff power that characterizes the song in general.

‘Leech of the Aeons’ is a great way to finish the album and the outro-like ending of the closer is like a storm that slowly ebbs away. The moment you can hear yourself think again after such a ride leads to the strong wish to restart this album and go for a next round. ‘Death, Madness, Horror, Decay’ clearly proves, oldschool isn’t a synonym for old fashion.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Abyssal Slime
  2. Death Reborn
  3. Cosmic Macabre
  4. Funeral Abyss
  5. Death, Madness, Horror, Decay
  6. Architects Of Madness
  7. In A Thousand Horrors Crowned
  8. Kaleidoscopic Mutations
  9. Ageless Evil
  10. One In Flesh
  11. Restless Death
  12. Leech Of The Aeons

Label: Century Media

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: November 19th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: