Review THE UNITY ‘The Devil You Know – Live’

German/Italian melodic metal band The Unity has a starting point that dates back to 2016. The sextet consists of Gianbattista Manenti (vocals) Michael Ehre (drums), Henjo Richter (guitars), Stef E (guitar), Jogi Sweers (bass) and Sascha Onnen (keyboards), all being part of the band from the beginning and known from other musical engagements.

After having inked a deal with Steamhammer, The Unity premiered with the self-titled debut. They guys added with ‘Rise’ and ‘Pride’ two more longplayers to the list and although three records don’t look like a long list of albums, the six-piece decided to unleash their first live album.

‘The Devil You Know – Live’ is the title of this twelve songs featuring record with songs, representing the entire five years of The Unity. With not having the chance to play live now, it is this live album that at least brings a bit of a live atmosphere to your place. Of course, this can’t compensate for a real show and the fact that the record is a mix of recordings from various club- and festival shows limits the live spirit in parts.

However, ‘The Devil You Know – Live’ is still an entertaining way to cruise through the main songs, penned by the band. In times, when positive things are hard to come by it’s records like this that brings some joy and color into the daily life.

I guess, that in usual times, as we knew them until early 2020, a record like this would have been a nice sidenote for fans of the band. Nowadays ‘The Devil You Know – Live’ is more of a colorful and melodic entertaining release that besides all the musical ear-pleasing also comes with lyrics like in ‘We Don’t Need Them Here’ which are a clear statement and positioning of the band.

Fans of melodic metal will get with ‘The Devil You Know – Live’ what they are looking for and everyone, that wants to have a good time should not circle around this record either. It brings some light to the autumn-blues.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Revenge
  2. Last Betrayal
  3. No Hero
  4. No More Lies
  5. Welcome Home
  6. Firesign 5:47
  7. The Storm
  8. We Don ́t Need Them Here
  9. The Willow Tree
  10. You Got Me Wrong
  11. Close To Crazy
  12. Never Forget

Label: Steamhammer

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: November 12th, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: