Review GREEN LUNG ‘Black Harvest’

Green Lung, that isn’t a new NGO for environment and sustainability. Green Lung, that is a band, hailing from London, England. Founded in 2017 the quintet unleashed their debut ‚Woodland Rites‘ in 2019. The album brought the band to the attention of legendary Svart Records and after having inked a deal, the sophomore record is ready to be released.

Green Lung’s sound reflects more than just one genre. The main influences though are stoner rock and doom metal. The quintet doesn’t exactly run their songs in snail-pace, but speedy outbreaks aren’t present either. To get an idea of the sound of Green Lung I can recommend to listen to ‚Graveyard Sun‘. A lot, Green Lung stands for, is embedded in this tune. There are the heavy outbursts, the calm moments, the organ sound and the blistering solo part, all put together in almost six minutes of exquisite music.

When I received ‚Black Harvest‘ I didn’t know what to expect since I missed the debut. The start was a bit confusing since the record begins with ‚The Harrowing‘, which has an a-Capella intro part that might create an atmosphere but at the same time doesn’t help to get an idea of what the band sounds like. The moment the roaring riff of ‚Old Gods‘ kicks in, things become much clearer. Doom metal, classic rock and a stoner vibe is what the song reflects and suddenly you find yourself listening to an album that fascinates.

Autumn is the season of harvesting what grew during the fruitful summer months. What goes for vegetable and fruit also goes for music, although it’s a ‚Black Harvest‘. However, Green Lung delivers are cool new album that helps to dive through the dark months of European wintertime.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The Harrowing
  2. Old Gods
  3. Leaders of the Blind
  4. Reaper’s Scythe
  5. Graveyard Sun
  6. Black Harvest
  7. Upon the Altar
  8. You Bear the Mask
  9. Doomsayer
  10. Born to a Dying World

Label: Svart Records

Genre: Stoner / Doom Metal

Release Date EU: October 22, 2021




AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: