Review U.D.O. ‘Game Over’

Can a pandemic stop German metal force Udo Dirkschneider? Of course not. The singer with the metal heart was really busy during the last one and a half years. Recently he released the ‘Arise’ EP together with some old friends from the Accept days, the ‘We are One’ album has been published and as U.D.O. the singer/band performed a show in Plovdiv in September last year which has also been released as a live album. So, there is a lot that happened and it’s time for a new studio album.

‘Game Over’ is the title of this anticipated new U.D.O. release, an album with a tracklist of sixteen new songs. Naming the album ‘Game Over’ has of course a meaning. Dirkschneider states very clearly that we have just this one world and if we continue treating it so badly, a game over waits around the next corner. Mankind must rethink how we treat Planet Earth. As someone, that was gifted to travel the world as being a well-known musician, Dirkschneider knows very well that we all live on the same planet and that we have just this one.

Musically the album reflects the U.D.O. trademarks with 100% and great song in this context is ‘Metal Never Dies’. The song is typical U.D.O. one with lyrics that matters. And who other than Dirkschneider could sing ‘Metal Never Dies’ more meaningful and with more authenticity?

As not expected differently, the album delivers to expectation. The greatness of this release is not innovation and that is a good thing. With a strongly throbbing metal heart, singer and band unleash the metal beast. Songs like ‘Holy Invaders’ and heavy pounding ‘Marching Tank’ are excellent metal anthems and also the up-tempo ‘Thunder Road’ is to recommend. Basically, you can drop the needle wherever you want on this album, you will never be disappointed.

‘Kids and Guns’ is a song you should also check out, for two reasons. First of all, it addresses the topic of child soldiers and next to the lyrics the songs is pure rock’n’roll beast. Equipped with an AC/DC-laden spirit the tune is well-crafted musical treat.

Udo Dirkschneider, that is the essence of heavy metal. The veteran knows exactly what he wants and how the album should sound like. He follows his heart and soul more the aiming for attention and commercial success. Hopefully ‘game over’ is in far distance when it comes to Dirkschneider releasing metal records since the pioneer still has a lot to say. Horns up.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Fear Detector
  2. Holy Invaders
  3. Prophecy
  4. Empty Eyes
  5. I See Red
  6. Metal Never Dies
  7. Kids and Guns
  8. Like a Beast
  9. Don’ Wanna Say Goodbye
  10. Unbroken
  11. Marching Tank
  12. Thunder Road
  13. Midnight Stranger
  14. Speed Seeker
  15. Time Control
  16. Metal Damnation

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: October 22nd, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: