Review LAST DAYS OF EDEN ‘Butterflies’

‚Butterfly‘, that’s a word not that often used in heavy metal. Crazy Town had a very successful song in 2000 with such a title and Moonspell released an album called ‚The Butterfly Effect‘. For the rest, the colorful insects aren’t flying very often through the endless fields of heavy metal.

October 15th, that is when a butterfly starts for a next time. Spanish metal outfit Last Days Of Eden will release their next album and awake the little insect. The band premiered in 2015 and the newest release is the third one, offered by the sextet from Southern Europe.

Last Days Of Eden shaped a tracklist that includes 14 songs, which are a blend of modern and symphonic metal with a strong Celtic touch. After the last tones of an intro called ‘Cast the Spell’ faded, Last Days Of Eden takes it away with the cinematic ‘Abracadabra’. Now, it might not me the ultimate magic that happens when using this formula of the magician but one thing becomes apparent. Last Days Of Eden know how to connect bigger soundscapes with powerful riffing. Songs like ‘Mirror Mirror’ deliver to the point what the target group expects – soulful tones with a decent level of heaviness.

‘Crown of Thorns’ aims for balancing the heavier parts. The symphonic and very soulful song sounds like the soundtrack for a fairytale and before you dream away in wonderland it is the pounding ‘To Hell & Back’ that brings you back into reality.

Fans of bands like Nightwish, Delain and Within Temptation should have ‘Butterflies’ on the list of new releases that might be interesting to them. Not that the Spanish powerhouse adds much new to this genre. It’s more of the professional approach of combining genre elements to a well-sounding total.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Cast The Spell
  2. Abracadabra
  3. The Garden
  4. Silence
  5. Mirror Mirror
  6. Moments
  7. The Secret
  8. Crown of Thorns
  9. To  Hell & Back
  10. Traxel Mör
  11. Save The World
  12. Abandon
  13. The Journey
  14. Fallen Angels

Label: El Puerto Records

Genre: Symphonic Metal

Release Date EU: October 15th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: