MOONSPELL re-release ‘The Great Silver Eye’ via MDD Records

Moonspell will re-release a compilation via MDD Records, an album that features many songs the helped to define a new sound. ‘The Great Silver Eye’ has been originally revealed in 2007 with a 16 songs featuring tracklist. Now it is MDD records that provides a re-issue of this compilation that represents the earlier era of the iconic band from Lisbon.

Hailing from Portugal, Moonspell embarked on an exciting journey through extreme metal. The quintet started with songs that are rooted in black metal without being shy of a good melody and a stronger gothic aspect.

The debut’ Wolfheart’ was an impressive first step and is still a cornerstone in Moonspell’s discography. Over time, the band evolved their trademarks and what was the common element is the melancholic darkness that is a key mood on each album.

‘The Great Silver Eye’ is the title of a compilation that will hit the shelves of the record stores on September 24th and represents many of the earlier highlights. Dark metal anthems like ‘Opium’ and ‘Alma Mater’ are part of the tracklist as well as songs like ‘Finisterra’, originally being part of the 2006 release ‘Memorial’ record. In case ‘Night Eternal’ was your first Moonspell album, this compilation helps to catch-up and for sure, the early years of Moonspell are exciting since it sharpened the sound of a band that is relevant since decades.


  1. Wolfshade (A Werewolf Masquerade)
  2. Vampiria
  3. Alma Mater
  4. Opium
  5. Raven Claws
  6. Full Moon Madness
  7. Second Skin
  8. Magdalena
  9. Soulsick
  10. Lustmord
  11. Firewalking
  12. Nocturna
  13. Everything Invaded
  14. Capricorn At Her Feet
  15. Finisterra
  16. Luna

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: