Review DORO ‘Triumph and Agony Live’

‚Burning the Witches‘ was the start, ‚Hellbound‘ laid the foundation and ‚Triumph and Agony‘ was the big break-through for German metal enthusiasts of Warlock. The album was the beginning of something big and although Warlock disbanded a couple of years after having unleashed the classic, it is Doro Pesch that took the baton and never let it loose again.

Warlock was the springboard for Pesch to start a career that impresses. Humble and always positive, the singer became a metal queen and can act as a role model for a caring and passionate musician in metal. Regardless of if you like the music or not, there is never a bad word said about Doro Pesch. She is respected by everyone.

The iconic singer never forgot the early days of her career and therefor it isn’t a surprise that the 35th anniversary of the legendary ‘Triumph and Agony’ album needed a special party. In days when live shows are facing limitations and parties are different than two years ago, it is a live album that honors the milestone release from 1987 and carries the spirit.

Doro played all songs of the album at Sweden Rock 2017 and in front of an enthusiastic crowd the classics shine brightly. ‘East Meets West’, ‘Metal Tango’ and ‘All We Are’ are timeless metal anthems and the album shows clearly why these songs are tunes being created to last. Already at the time the soulful aspect of Warlock and Doro Pesch didn’t come up short either. ‘Für Immer’ is a power ballad that survived eras and trends. It is a song, fans still want to be a part of live shows and usually they get what they ask for. Also this time.

Although being performed in a different order than on the album, ‘Triumph and Agony Live’ is a great homage to one of the iconic metal album from the late 80s. Listening to the songs feels like a time travel into my youth and a time when all the metal kids had a Warlock poster decorating the room.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Legacy (Intro)
  2. Touch Of Evil
  3. I Rule The Ruins
  4. East Meets West
  5. Three Minute Warning
  6. Kiss Of Death
  7. Für Immer
  8. Cold, Cold World
  9. Make Time For Love
  10. Metal Tango
  11. All We Are

Label: Rare Diamonds

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: September 24th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: