Review VEGA ‘Anarchy and Unity’

UK rockers Vega have been in business for 12 years now and have six studio albums to their credit. With ‘Anarchy and Unity’ the guys from York have produced a new record and have remained true to themselves. Vega stands for melodic rock at its best and the sextet leaves no doubt that they can combine crisp sounds with good melodies also on their new album.

‘Beautiful Lie’ is the starting point for a 49 minute journey through the pleasant worlds of melodic rock. Vega’s sound is not really innovative, however the guys know exactly what they are doing. It would be too easy to label the guys as a feel-good band and yet each of the 12 tracks has the potential to push aside some of the gloomy thoughts.

Tracks that should be mentioned in any case is the rather calm and emotional ‘Live for Me’ and also the Magnum-like ‘Kneel to You’ knows how to impress. ‘Ain’t Who I Am’ is a tune where it’s hard to resist the melodies. With ‘Had Enough’ the guys have added a melodic rock anthem to the latter part of the tracklist before the somewhat convoluted ‘2Die4’ heralds the finale of ‘Anarchy and Unit’.

Vega have with Billy Taylor (ex-Inglorious) and Pete Newdeck (Nitrate, Midnite City) two new companions on board which add some extra vitality to the album. At the same time Vega stay true to their musical style and if you listen to the songs on ‘Anarchy and Unity’ you will understand why. Never change a winning formula.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Beautiful Lie
  2. Sooner Or Later
  3. End Of The Fade
  4. Ain’t Who I Am Welcome
  5. To Wherever
  6. Bring The Riot
  7. Live For Me
  8. Kneel To You
  9. Glow
  10. C’mon
  11. Had Enough
  12. 2Die4

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Melodic Rock

Release Date EU: September 17th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: