Review THE BRONX ‘Bronx VI’

The Bronx is an American punk rock band, hailing from Los Angeles, CA. The starting point of this energetic band was in 2002 and its Matt Caughthran and Joby J. Ford, being the remaining founding members. The band premiered in 2003 and the guys kept the naming procedure for their albums rather simple. They stick to ‘The Bronx’ as album titled with the latest two longplayers getting a number to the title and small adjustments.

‘V’ was the first deviation from the principle and now it is ‘Bronx VI’ being the newest offer from the California punk band. The new longplayer comes with an eleven songs comprising tracklist and a running time of 36 minutes. Things aren’t too long, and the quintet sticks more to a spot-on approach. There are no long passages. Instead, the album features powerful and melody-oriented punk rock that acts as an energy boost.

The opener ‘White Shadow’ gave a first taste of what the album is about. Great hooks and the rawness of punk rock go together extremely well. In addition, the raspy vocals of frontman Caughthran are a perfect match with the drive the band expresses in their songs.

‘Watering the Well’ is another shining highlight on the album, a song done in the spirit of rock’n’roll. ‘Peace Pipe’, with the strong groove and the ‘Ohohoho’-parts, is a song for live shows and a chanting crowd. ‘Mexican Summer’ is a cool song too, leading to the bursting ‘New Lows’, which is a high on the album. And there is ‘Participation Trophy’ that, in a wider context, reminds me of Warrior Soul in their early days.

‘Bronx VI’ is a roaring punk rock album that doesn’t pay any attention to frills and fillers. This longplayer is spot-on and like a punch in the face. It’s a longplayer that spreads its infectious energy right away and has enough to offer for many spins on your record player.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. White Shadow
  2. Superbloom
  3. Watering The Well
  4. Curb Feelers
  5. Peace Pipe
  6. High Five
  7. Mexican Summer
  8. New Lows
  9. Breaking News
  10. Jack of All Trades
  11. Participation Trophy

Label: Cooking Vinyl

Genre: Punk Rock

Release Date EU: August 28th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: