Review YNGWIE MALMSTEEN ‘Parabellum’

Having released 21 solo studio albums means that you’re real veteran with a long list of achievements. Yngwie Malmsteen is this guy that can look back on a long history in heavy metal. The guitar wizard and master of neoclassic power metal created an own sound which makes Malmsteen songs immediately recognizable. 

The Swedish guitarist started his career in Steeler and Alcatrazz before he lasered in on his solo career. For me, the first four albums belong to the best the guitarist released. ‘Rising Force’ was the well-received debut which features mainly instrumentals with the extra of some tracks with lyrics. The new longplayer, ‘Parabellum’, shows a similar approach. The tracklist of ‘Parabellum’ contains ten songs of which six are instrumentals. Virtuosity is the driving force on a Malmsteen album, and the new record doesn’t make any difference or includes adjustments to the Malmsteen-formula. There are racing instrumentals like the title track’(Si Vis Pacem) Parabellum’ which is a racing fast metal song, a guitar attack with style. Already the beginning of the album doesn’t leave a doubt about this album being penned, created and record by the guitar virtuoso. The shred master pushes the pedal to the metal right way, meaning a powering tempo and some great vocal lines, both making the opener to a breath-taking experience. And there isn’t a need for a science fiction writer to predict that the rest of the album will follow a similar pattern. 

Then there are other songs, like ‘Relentless Fury’, including lyrics and vocals. The mix of instrumental songs is well done and creates a good flow. I mentioned already to uptempo title track and what follows is a real contrast called ‘Eternal Bliss’. This tune is a calmer and heart-cuddling track that songs to start the lighters during a live show, or is it smartphone torches these days? However, both songs, placed in the middle of the album, reflect the bandwidth of Malmsteen’s musical universe in good fashion. 

‘Parabellum’ is a typical Yngwie Malmsteen, and fans of the Swedish guitar wizard will probably like what they get offered with ‘Parabellum’. Malmsteen stays true to his sound and musical trademarks without standing still. The extra time, ‘Provided’ be the pandemic, helped to get the best of Malmsteen on this record. It allowed the guitarist to spend more time on each of the songs, park song ideas just to pick them up at a later stage with a new flow in mind. Metalheads that aren’t paralyzed by extensive solo parts and furious leads will enjoy the album. ‘Parabellum’ is according to expectation on a high level. And delivers 100% Yngwie Malmsteen.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Wolves At The Door
  2. Presto Vivace in C# Minor
  3. Relentless Fury
  4.  (Si Vis Pacem) Parabellum
  5. Eternal Bliss
  6. Toccata
  7. God Particle
  8. Magic Bullet
  9.  (Fight) The Good Fight
  10. Sea Of Tranquility

Label: Mascot Label Group

Genre: Neoclassic Metal

Release Date EU: July 23rd, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: