Review LEE AARON ‘Radio On!’

Lee Aaron announced a new album called ‘Radio On’ which will hit the shelves On July 23rd. The award-winning Canadian singer from Belleville, Ontario started her career when she was fifteen years old and the band, she joined was called Lee Aaron. The breakthrough album of the Canadian vocalist was the 1984 release ‘Metal Queen’, a record that features with the title track a stellar metal anthem. The hymn is a timeless classic and the album was the springboard for Aaron to become a strong player in the fields of metal.

With ‘Bodyrock’, Lee Aaron released a very commercial album before the metal roots slowly became less important.

Jazz and blues got more into focus of the Canadian singer, leading to the jazz album ‘Slick Chick’ and pop-sounds started to shine brighter on albums like ‘Beautiful Things’.

Since 2016 the rock roots awoke again with an album called ‘Fire and Gasoline’ and these days it is ‘Radio On!’ being the next energizer, delivered by the singer.

The new record features twelve songs, unleashing the rock beast. The metal days seem to be over but the fascination for well-crafted rock music is still alive and manifests itself in tune like the powerful ‘Wasted’. The first notes on the album are calmer and it doesn’t take too long before ‘Vampin’’ evolve to a strong rock’n’roll track that leads to ‘Soul Breaker’. The latter is one of the best tracks on the album. Lee Aaron shows what her voice can do, and the groove makes this tune addictive. Also, the pumping ‘Mama Don’t Remember’ is nothing to sneeze at and the name of the title track speaks volume. Turn on the radio on and tune in on channel ‘rock’n’roll’, that’s the spirit of song and album. ‘Devil’s Gold’ is the calmer moment on the album, addressing materialism, before the up-tempo ‘Russian Doll’ entertains more than once and thematizes society.

‘Radio On!’ is a very well-crafted rock album with great harmonies, powerful riffs and singer being in fine voice. This album brings a lot of fun and joy to the plate, something we all need these days for sure.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Vampin’
  2. Soul Breaker
  3. Cmon
  4. Mama Don’t Remember
  5. Radio On
  6. Soho Crawl
  7. Devil’s Gold
  8. Russian Doll
  9. Great Big Love
  10. Wasted
  11. Had Me at Hello
  12. Twenty One

Label: Metalville

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: July 23rd, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: