Review MIDNITE CITY ‘Itch You Can’t Scratch’

Do you miss hair spray metal from the eighties? Or are band like Mötley Crüe, Ratt, Loverboy and Def Leppard you favorite hard rock outfits? In case you can at least answer one of the questions with ‘yes’, then you shouldn’t miss this quintet from Nottingham, UK. Midnite City is the name of a band that is rather new and still release with ‘Itch You Can’t Scratch already album number three.

Midnite City is the brainchild of singer/guitarist Rob Wylde and after having premiered, the second longplayer ‘There Goes the Neighbourhood’ paved the way for reaching extra attention.

The new album ‘Itch You Can’t Scratch’ features ten songs, all providing a good vibe, acting as the perfect soundtrack for some hot summer nights, in the city or anywhere else. None of the tunes on this album disappoints. Each of the songs is a melodic treat with hooklines and catchiness. By offering some musical sugar for your ears, the band never drown in cliché-laden rock music with guitars and a solid working rhythm-section being the base for each of the songs on ‘Itch You Can’t Scratch’. No doubt, the keyboards add density and a melody-push to the mix. However, songs like ‘I Don’ Need Another Heartache’ are flawless hard rock hymns that unfold their beauty right away. A piano song can’t be missed either on such an album and with ‘If It’s Over’ the fans of soulful moments get what they are asking for.

‘Itch You Can’t Scratch’ is a continuation of a three-album winning streak for Midnite City. And even if their music isn’t unique, I can conclude that the album is reflecting the ‘80s spirit in a good way without using the persiflage-style other bands added to their trademarks. This album carries music that is a matter of the heart.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Crawlin’ in the Dirt
  2. Atomic
  3. Fire Inside
  4. Darkest Before the Dawn
  5. I Don’ Need Another Heartache
  6. Blame it on Your Lovin’
  7. They Only Come Out at Night
  8. Chance of a Lifetime
  9. If it’s Over
  10. Fall to Pieces

Label: Roulette Media Records

Genre: Glam Rock

Release Date EU: June 11th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: