CD review EVILE ‘Hell Unleashed’

UK thrash metal enthusiasts Evile have been away for quite a while. The latest album, ‘Skull’, has been unleashed in 2013 and then silence took over. Earlier this year, things changed with the release of a first single. ‘Hell Unleashed’ was the appetizer for a next longplayer penned by Evile. It’s the grinding title track of their fifth studio album, featuring a nine songs tracklist.

And not only that the band returns with a new longplayer, also line-up adjustments can be reported. Adam Smith is handling the guitars since 2020 while Evile-veteran Ol Drake takes over lead vocals, next to the guitar duties. Ben Carter and Joel Graham complete the line-up that took care about ‘Hell Unleashed’.

After such a long waiting time for fans, Evile get to the point rather quickly when it comes to their fifth longplayer. ‘Paralysed’ is the furious opener that showcases a band that is more than just back in business. The tank is refilled and allows the band to hammer out songs, overflowing with vitality. The good first impression, provided by the opener, finds its continuation with ‘Gore’. Starting slower than the entrypoint song, the tune evolves to a riff attack with merciless speed. Breaks instead of brakes, that is what you find on ‘Hell Unleashed’ more than once, also with ‘Incarcerated’.

‘The Thing (1982)’ is another songs, fans of solid headbanging shouldn’t miss and the same goes for the finale, represented by the title track. An air hammer beat and furious solo parts are characteristics of a song that is for a reason the name-giver for the album.

‘Hell Unleashed’ is a flawless thrash metal album. It’s aggressive, with high velocity and to the point. There is no flourish or unnecessary layers. This longplayer is spot-on and reflects the beauty of thrash metal that lives by its savage power and doesn’t care about hypes or trends. Oldschool in the best meaning of the word, that’s ‘Hell Unleashed’.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Paralysed
  2. Gore ( feat. Brian Posehn )
  3. Incarcerated
  4. War of Attrition
  5. Disorder
  6. The Thing (1982)
  7. Zombie Apocalypse
  8. Control from Above
  9. Hell Unleashed

Label: Napalm Records

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: April 30th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: