CD review MISTER MISERY ‘A Brighter Side of Death’

Mister Misery is hailing from Sweden and started in February 2018. Sparked by a passion for restless souls and the creepy stories, the quartet let their debut rise out of the casket in 2019. ‘Unalive’ is the title of the first Mister Misery longplayer and now it’s time to focus on ‘A Brighter Side of Death’.

Mister Misery, that’s Harley, Alex, Alex and Rizzy. The four guys start the carousel of modern horror metal with a ‘ballad. Now, the only ‘Ballad’ is the word itself, mentioned in the title. The tune is more of a thundering modern metal track with a voluminous sound and a good sense for melodies, manifested in the chorus. Sometimes leaning a bit towards metalcore, the blend of Mister Misery is build on a solid portion of metal and also rock elements are not rejected either.

The album has a cinematic ingredient too, that’s basically weaved in each of the 12 songs and becomes obvious in the beginning of tracks like ‘Mr Hyde’. Also ‘In Forever’ starts with a bombastic approach with the keyboards adding a spooky density. Pennywise, the clown of ‘It’, is what you get in mind when listening to the fun fair sound in the beginning of ‘Clown Prince of Hell’, followed my the very catchy ‘We Don’t Belong’.

‘A Brighter Side of Death’ is a very entertaining album that offers good songs. The longplayer and it’s songs certainly doesn’t scar to death and you don’t need to run away as the girl on the artwork does. This record is more of melodic metal feast that comes with a lot of power. It’s not much new the guys bring to the plate and still they are able to score a few runs with some songs on this longplayer.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Ballad Of The Headless Horseman
  2. Buried
  3. Mister Hyde
  4. Burn
  5. Devil In Me
  6. I’ll Never Be Yours
  7. Under The Moonlight
  8. In Forever (We All Fall Down)
  9. Clown Prince Of Hell
  10. We Don’t Belong
  11. Home
  12. Through Hell
  13. Ballad Of The Headless Horseman (Bonus Track – Orchestral Version)

Label: Arising Empire

Genre: Modern Metal

Release Date EU: April 23rd, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: