CD review RITUAL ‘Valley of the Kings’ – re-release

The band name Ritual is certainly not a unique one. There are numerous bands with this moniker and one of the earlier bands under this banner are Ritual from the UK. It was in 1973 when the band was founded, and they have been active until 1995 before the trio disbanded.

Ritual from London, UK, also known as Widow) belongs to the pioneers of metal and the spirit of the New Wave of British Heavy Metal helped the band to gain momentum. The trio never had a big break-through and has just two longplayers added to the almanac of heavy metal.

The debut ‘Widow’ has been published in 1983 and a decade later the sophomore record ‘Valley of the Kings’ saw the light of day. Ritual is sometimes described as being a spearhead band when it comes to occult rock. Although being partly inspired by Black Sabbath and Deep Purple. Ritual is very much into heavy rock, which they celebrate on ‘Valley of the Kings’ in eleven chapters.

‘Valley of the Kings’ is dark when it comes to the general atmosphere and it was an unexpected release. Even though a decade passed by between the debut and the second longplayer, it feels like the band was able to pick-up the spirit of the debut again, leading to a seamless sound that builds on the debut.

In the series of re-releases, High Roller Records will bring this longplayer into the record stores again as limited vinyl, mastered by Patrick W. Engel at Temple Of Disharmony in May 2020. Release date is scheduled for April 30th, 2021.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Naisha
  2. Kiss Of The Nile
  3. Come To The Ritual
  4. Gypsy
  5. The Enchanted Princess
  6. Burning
  7. Winds Of Fire
  8. Lady Night
  9. Morning Star
  10. Possessed
  11. Never Look Back

Label: High Roller Records

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: April 30th, 2021

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: