CD review THE END MACHINE ‘Phase 2’

The End Machine is one of the many projects that have been generated by Frontiers Music. The line-up of this outfit is an interesting one since it includes some well-known names in hard rock. With George Lynch and Jeff Pilson two main pillars of the successful Dokken line-up added their musical piece to The End Machine. Furthermore, it’s Robert Manson (Warrant Lynch Mob) and Steve Brown on drums, completing the line-up of The End Machine, the latter replacing his brother Mick Brown who provided the heartbeat for the first longplayer.

The band premiered nearly two years ago and ‘Phase 2’ is the second strike from the quartet. Musically, things take a similar road as the guys have chosen for debut. It’s melodic hard rock the guys offer and it goes without saying the everything is handled rather professionally. George Lynch’s guitar plays an important role by shining without dominating. Equipped with well-crafted solo parts, The End Machine always keeps the focus on the song and not on individual specialism.

Manson’s vocals fit perfectly to this kind of music and the grooving rhythm section provides a solid frame for each of the songs. As with many of these projects, there is technically seen all done well. What’s missing though is the heart and soul. Although each of the tunes sounds good, there is a standard pattern that comes back in each songs, leading to music that we have heard more than once. Songs like ‘Crack the Sky’ are by no means bad ones. It’s more the liveliness that could be stronger. It feels like an artificially created project performs good songs that were written for them rather the band naturally creating their own songs.

As the debut, also ‘Phase 2’ is a solid record that provides good music and limited thrills. Equipped with a good sound, The End Machine delivers twelve tracks that provide an ease while listening but also fades away after the final note of the last track has been played.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. The Rising
  2. Blood And Money
  3. We Walk Alone
  4. Dark Divide
  5. Crack The Sky
  6. Prison Or Paradise
  7. Plastic Heroes
  8. Scars
  9. Shine Your Light
  10. Devils Playground
  11. Born Of Fire
  12. Destiny

Label: Frontiers Music

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: April 9th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: