CD review LAMB OF GOD ‘Lamb Of God (Live In Richmond, VA)’

‚Lamb Of God (Live in Richmond, VA)’ is an interesting live album und a rather unusual one too. Instead of being recorded at a big venue as being part of a tour around the globe, the base for this live recording is a slightly different one. ‚Lamb Of God (Live in Richmond, VA)’ is a product of the pandemic and it’s a witness for a time when concerts were solely a stream with no enthusiastic crowd present. Hopefully this unreal situation is over the sooner the better and what certainly stays is this timeless release.

Lamb Of God, known as one of the big players in the current metal scene released a self-titled album in June 202 and not being able to embark on a tour with the new songs led to a streaming event that took place on September 18th, 2020. The quintet met at the studio, the creative homebase of Randy Blythe and streamed a show that is now available is CD too.

The online event was mainly to present the new album and give as much attention as possible in a time we couldn’t imagine a couple of years ago. The first part of the show was Lamb Of God playing the entire new album in a live setup. It’s a rare moment top see the band performing live in such an intimate setup compared to the bigger live shows we are used to. The answer to the question if one should go for this release while having the ‘Lamb Of God’ longplayer already being a part of the collection is what everyone needs to answer individually. What we can conclude though is that this release spreads quite some energy and obviously the guys are on fire.

Production and sound of this release are excellent too and it’s thrilling to listen to these 14 songs. Next to the ten songs of the album, Lamb Of God also performed four classics, starting with ‘Contractor’ and ‘Ruin’. ‘The Death of Us’ made it’s live debut that day and it’s ‘512’, taken from the ‘VII: Sturm und Drang’ album that ended the live stream and also ends this album.

‚Lamb Of God (Live in Richmond, VA)’ is a witness of music in COVOD-times and at the same time is an energy-boost. Randy Blythe and band mates put their entire metal heart into this stream and created a forceful and raw piece of metal that invites for a circle pit in your living room.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Memento Mori (Live) 
  2. Checkmate (Live) 
  3. Gears (Live) 
  4. Reality Bath (Live) 
  5. New Colossal Hate (Live)
  6. Resurrection Man (Live) 
  7. Poison Dream (Live) 
  8. Routes (Live) 
  9. Bloodshot Eyes (Live) 
  10. On The Hook (Live) 
  11. Contractor (Live) 
  12. Ruin (Live) 
  13. The Death Of Us (Live)
  14. 512 (Live) 
  15. Ghost Shaped People (Live)
  16. Hyperthermic – Accelerate (Live)

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: March 26th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: