CD review ENFORCER ‘Live by Fire II’

Six years after having unleashed their first live album, Swedish metal powerhouse Enforcer is ready to delight the metal community with a next live release. ‘Live by Fire II’ is a chronological next step that follows the 2015 release ‘Live by Fire’.

Enforcer toured heavily in 2019 and amongst many other countries it was Mexico, that welcomed the Swedes and it’s is the show in Mexico City that was recorded for this live album. The focus of the gig was on the ‘Zenith’ album as well as on the ‘Death by Fire’ longplayer. In total it’s a 17 songs comprising setlist that showcases with headbangers like the furious ‘Searching for You’ the entire power of heavy metal. Enforcer, that’s oldschool metal, created and performed straight to the point. There are now frills and decoration. Mighty riffs, good melodies and high pitch screams by Olof Wikstrand represent traditional heavy metal, performed with the enthusiasm of youth.

Photo credit: Cintia Regueiro

There are of course some parallels when it comes to the choice of songs between ‘Live by Fire’ part one and two. Those moments are very limited though and seriously, an Enforcer show without songs like ‘Mesmerized by Fire’ and Midnight Vice’ would be incomplete.

Sound is always an important criteria for a live release and I can report just good news here. The album feels authentic from start to finish with a sound that transports the electrifying vibe at the venue at the time. Enthusiastic fans can be heard more than ones, enjoying pure heavy metal pleasure that includes some sing-along parts as during ‘From Beyond’.

‘Live by Fire II’ showcases a band that is hungry for heavy metal. Furthermore, the album transports the sweat-soaked venue atmosphere right to your home, at least as much as it can be done by a live album. If you want to have a good time and if you are in need of some solid headbanging, there is now way to bypass ‘Live by Fire II’.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Die For The Devil 
  2. Searching For You 
  3. Undying Evil 
  4. From Beyond 
  5. Bells Of Hades + Death Rides This Night 
  6. Zenith Of The Black Sun 
  7. Live For The Night 
  8. Mesmerized By Fire 
  9. One Thousand Years Of Darkness 
  10. Guitar Solo + City Lights Jam 
  11. Scream Of The Savage 
  12. Drum Solo 
  13. Run For Your Life 
  14. Take Me Out Of This Nightmare 
  15. Destroyer 
  16. Katana 
  17. Midnight Vice 

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: March 19th, 2021


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: