CD review EYEHATEGOD ‘A History of Nomadic Behavior’

Six years after ‘EyeHateGod’, Mike Williams, Jimmy Bower, Gary Mader and Aaron Hill are back with a new album. ‘A History of Nomadic Behavior’ is the heading under which twelve new songs see the light of day. Well, to call it ‘light’ is perhaps not quite accurate, because what the quartet delivers is rather the musical framework for a glimse deep into the abyss of the human soul.

After touring a lot during the last years, which led the band to Indonesia and Tasmania, Eyehategod returned to the studio with new songs, to record a new longplayer called ‘A History of Nomadic Behavior’. The sludge and doom masters release with their new album a product, which can cause enthusiasm by its intensity but on the other hand can also be disturbing. Eyehategod rely again on trademarks like extremely down-tuned guitars, a grooving bassline and grinding, partly slo-mo beats. All is garnished by Willams’ vocals, which can be described as weird and require some effort to get used to since it comes with phrasings and twist being unforeseen.

Obviously there are many things that have happened over the past years in politics and society and it is not that Eyehategod clearly address these things nor they describe themselves as being a political band. Nevertheless, the incidents had an influence on the album what you can clearly recognize if you take a closer look at songs like ‘High Risk Trigger’.

‘A History of Nomadic Behavior’ is a very intense album where the individual song inspire while at the same time is takes effort to listen to the album in one go. Still, Eyehategod’s latest delivery is well worth listening to and if you like slow and really powerful guitar riffs, then this is definitely the right album for you.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. Built Beneath The Lies
  2. The Outer Banks
  3. Fake What’s Yours
  4. Three Black Eyes
  5. Current Situation
  6. High Risk Trigger
  7. Anemic Robotic
  8. The Day Felt Wrong
  9. The Trial of Johnny Cancer
  10. Smoker’s Piece
  11. Circle of Nerves
  12. Every Thing, Every Day

Label: Century Media

Genre: Sludge/Doom Metal

Release Date EU: March 12th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: