CD review DEMON HEAD ‘Viscera’

In line with the dark season, the inventors of diabolic rock release their new album ‘Viscera’. Active since 2012, the band debuted in 2015 with ‘Ride the Wilderness’ after two demos and a single first attracted attention.

Slowly and steadily Demon Head could increase the audience, a fact to which the quality of the following two albums contributed a lot. In the meantime Demon Head switched to Metal Blade and throws with ‘Viscera’ ten new tracks out into the dark skies of an average January day.

With 36 minutes you can’t really speak of a musical overload on ‘ Viscera ‘, but on the other hand you don’t get any idle time either. The fourth album was recorded in the first months of 2020, a time that certainly favorably impacted the darker expression of the longplayer. Long nights and an upcoming pandemic did not tempt to euphoria and thus the Danish quintet continues its journey through the realms of melancholy.

The start with ‘ Tooth and Nail ‘ and ‘ The Feline Smile ‘ could not be better chosen. The loudspeaker releases gloomy rock sounds which are on the one hand oppressive, but also spread great fascination. Demon Head do not follow any standard formula, but have managed over the years to give their music its own expression.

Besides the ‘normal’ songs, the guys have also inserted interludes, which do not reach the two minutes and act as a kind of emotional bridge. In this context, ‘Arrows’ and ‘The Lupine Choir’ should be mentioned, both atmospheric highlights. ‘A Long, Groaning Descent’ should also be listed here, music that lingers in the listener’s mind like grey clouds.

To sum up, Demon Head deliver on their new album their best performance to date, which is certainly amplified by the great sound from Flemming Rasmussen at the helm at Sweet Silence Studio. The band succeeds in building up a sinister and dark atmosphere that thrills. Occult rock at its best, that’s what you get from Demon Head, a band we will surely hear more of in the years to come.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Tooth and Nail
  2. The Feline Smile
  3. Arrows
  4. Magical Death
  5. The Lupine Choir
  6. A long Groaning Descent
  7. In Adamantine Chains
  8. Black Torches
  9. Wreath
  10. The Triumphal Chariot of Antimony

Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: Diabolic Rock

Release Date EU: January 29th, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: