CD review VOLTER ‘High Gain Overkill’

Volter hail from Hannover, Germany, are a trio and are dedicated to Rock’n’Roll. Volter’s roots go back to 2014. Drummer Anton and singer/bassist Gregor found a lot of common ground when it comes to their passion for raw hard rock music. What was missing at the time was a guitarist and the search was completed quickly and with success. The band gained a reputation with live shows and an EP was the first countable result for their discography.

These days the guys from Lower Saxony continue with their next longplayer. ‘High Gain Overkill’ is the title of the new record, an eleven song homage to the power of rock’n’roll.

Already after the first beats of the title track it should be clear who has created the blueprint for Volter. Lemmy Kilmister is certainly no stranger to Volter, and Motörhead records have certainly found their way onto the record player of the three guys more than once. Rock, punk and metal merge on ‘High Gain Overkill’ to a well-done musical blend. It is almost impossible to escape the bundled load of energy.

Well, with all enthusiasm one must also state that the trio follows their idols very much. This may not appeal to everyone. Regardless of this, Volter play with a lot of passion and dedication so that the album can be understood as a tribute to one of the greatest bands of rock music. Compact, powerful and without compromise, the three give their very best and it doesn’t seem to be at all difficult for them to bring good rock’n’roll to the stage. ‘High Gain Overkill’ is an album that you can certainly listen to not only on the 28th of December.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. High Gain Overkill
  2. The Road is Mine
  3. Kiss My Ass
  4. Black Skies
  5. Damage Dealer
  6. Shake
  7. Nothing
  8. Boogie Ride
  9. Crimson Sky
  10. Rockstar
  11. Messiah’s Call

Label: Volterzone Records

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: January 22nd, 2021



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: