CD review ELLEFSON ‘No Cover’

Megadeth founding member and bass-ace David Ellefson signed a deal with earMUSIC and the first delivery is available at the record stores. It’s an album with cover versions which was also done in cooperation with Combat Records.

‘No Cover’, so the title of this longplayer, builds on an 19 songs featuring tracklist with covers versions of timeless anthems in rock and metal. The album was originally scheduled for release in early October before some health-related issues demanded a move to end of November and here it is.

Already the artwork of this longplayer reflects the aspect of covering on ‘No Cover’. Def Leppard’s ‘On Through the Night’ album is more than only inspiration for this record that also includes with ‘Wasted’ a song from Def Leppard’s debut. The cover version features with Frank Hannon, Jacob Bunton and Dave McClain also three guest, three out of a big group of contributors that helped to make this album become reality.

It’s a long list of musicians that have a guest appearance on the album, making songs like Krokus’ ‘Eat the Rich’, ‘Motörhead’s ‘Love Me Like a Reptile’ and Queen’s ‘Sheer Heart Attack’ to well-crafted interpretations, build on the original classics. Interesting in the choice songs is that metal classics like Judas Priest’s ‘Freewheel Burning’ found a spot on the tracklist as well as anarchic punk which is represented by ‘Holiday in Cambodia’, originally by Dead Kennedys. The latter includes Charlie Benante and Bubblefoot, both giving the songs an extra energy boost.

Cover albums include always the question of how close songs are to the original version or how much those morph into a totally new interpretation. ‘No Cover’ has an approach of being closer to the original with the involved guest making the difference. Having e.g. Doro Pesch singing on ‘Sheer Heart Attack’ adds definitaly a new spice to the tune.

The second question is, how much such an album is needed and the answer is that the world would keep on turning without. However, each of these 19 songs reflects a milestone in rock and metal. It’s interpreted in a really good fashion and it also provides fun and rocking entertainment. Thinking about the times we are in these days, this might be enough for the one or the other to dive into ‘No Cover’. Good music is for sure guaranteed.

Rating: 8 out of 10.



  1. Freewheel Burning (Judas Priest) ft. Jason McMaster, Gus G, Andy James, Dave McCLain
  2. Tear It Loose (Twisted Sister) ft. Eddie Ojeda, Dave McClain
  3. Love Me Like A Reptile (Motorhead) ft. Doro Pesch, Greg Handevidt, Chuck Behler
  4. Holiday in Cambodia (Dead Kennedys) ft. Charlie Benante, Bumblefoot
  5. Rebel Yell (Billy Idol) ft. Paolo Caridi
  6. Wasted (Def Leppard) ft. Frank Hannon, Jacob Bunton, Dave McClain
  7. Riff Raff (AC/DC) ft. Jason McMaster (Lead Vocals), Dave Lombardo, Bumblefoot
  8. Nailed To The Gun (Fight) ft. Andrew Freeman, Russ Parrish, Jimmy DeGrasso
  9. Not Fragile (Bachman-Turner Overdrive) ft. John Aquilino, Paolo Caridi, Bumblefoot
  10. Auf Wiedersehen (Cheap Trick) ft. Al Jourgensen, Brandon Yeagley, Charlie Benante


  1. LOVE Machine (W.A.S.P.) ft. Dirk Verbeuren, Dave Alvin, Bumblefoot
  2. Love Hurts (Nazareth) ft. Brandon Yeagley, Chuck Behler, Tyson Leslie
  3. Eat The Rich (Krokus) ft. Jason McMaster, Dave Sharpe and Opus of Dead By Wednesday
  4. Sheer Heart Attack (Queen) ft. Bumblefoot, Doro Pesch, Charlie Benante
  5. Over The Mountain (Ozzy Osbourne) ft. Andrew Freeman (Lead Vocals), Bumblefoot, Jimmy DeGrasso
  6. Sweet FA (Sweet) ft. Todd Kerns (Lead Vocals), Bumblefoot, Shani Kimelman
  7. Beth (KISS) ft. Tyson Leslie, Bumblefoot
  8. Say What You Will (Fastway) ft. Mark Slaughter, Troy Lucketta
  9. Downed (feat. Chip Z’Nuff, Drew Frontier & Mike Heller

Label: earMUSIC

Genre: Rock & Metal

Release Date EU: November 20th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: