CD review OLD MOTHER HELL ‘Lord of Demise’

Cruz Del Sur has very good scouting skills when it’s about discovering new bands with potential, not only but especially when it’s about Doom- and Epic Metal. Old Mother Hell is such an oufit that recently signed with the label and the first album is in the starting blocks.

Old Mother Hell was founded in 2015 in Mannheim, Germany. An independently released debut was revealed two years later, an album that paved the way for becoming an active part in Cruz Del Sur’s roster. The lable re-issued ‘Old Mother Earth’ and the positive feedback was a decisive factor for starting work on a second album.

Old Mother Hell presents with ‘Lord of Demise’ their sophomore album these days, featuring eight pretty cool metal anthems. The album is neither trendy nor aiming for a hype and that’s exactly why this longplayer is so thrilling. There are no gimmicks or distractions that could shift the focus away from the music itself. ‘Lord of Demise’ contains heavy metal and attitude counts more than shiny deflections.

Old Mother Hell don’t waste any time and start with ‘Betrayal at the Sea’ into the album. Screaming guitars and a hard-hitting rhythm section are the right preconditions for metal and Old Mother Hell don’t leave a doubt on having these tools at hand. And not only they have it hand, the trio also knows pretty well how to handle them. ‘Estranged’ with the calm beginning and a mighty continuation shows good craftsmanship too. If you’re into faster metal songs, check out ‘Shadows Within’ and if you dig slower doom metal, go for ‘Another Fallen Savior’ with a thrilling riff, influenced by bands like Black Sabbath.

‘Lord of Demise’ is a great metal album, showing clearly that the underground is alive. The trio lasers in on music that reflects their dedication for heavy music. This release is authentic, real and straight to the point. If you rate good music over gimmicks, this album should draw your interest.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Betrayal At The Sea
  2. Avenging Angel
  3. Lord Of Demise
  4. Estranged
  5. Edge Of Time
  6. Shadows Within
  7. Another Fallen Savior
  8. Finally Free

Label: Cruz Del Sur

Genre: Epic Metal

Release Date EU: October 24th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: