CD review HELLRIPPER ‘The Affair of the Poisons’

Hellripper is the brainchild of James McBain, hailing from the Scottish Highlands. The multi-instrumentalist from Aberdeen started Hellripper in 2014 and numerous split releases, singles and EP’s brought Hellripper to the attention of Peaceville Records.

‘The Affair of the Poisons’ is the sophomore album from Hellripper and the first one that comes via Peaceville Record. Benefiting from such a label allows McBain to belt out his smashing metal to the world. So what’s to expect?

A venemous mix of speed metal, thrash metal, all a bit blackened, is what Hellripper offer with their new longplayer. Also rock’n’roll doesn’t come up short on the album. With songs like the furious ‘Vampire’s Grave’, Hellripper add a good portion of Motörhead spirit to the mix too.

‘The Affair of the Poisons’ builds on the known and doesn’t surprise with jaw-dropping twists. The blackened beauty of this album sits in the furious energy and the unbound power that’s weaved into each of the eight songs. Music for headbangers.

Rating: 7 out of 10.


  1. The Affair Of The Poisons
  2. Spectres Of The Blood Moon Sabbath
  3. Vampire`s Grave
  4. Beyond The Convent Walls
  5. Savage Blasphemy
  6. Hexennacht
  7. Blood Orgy Of The She-Devils
  8. The Hanging Tree

Label: Peaceville Records

Genre: Speed-/Thrash Metal

Release Date EU: October 9th, 2020

AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal Video

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: