CD review SPIRIT ADRIFT ‘Enlightened by Eternity’

The best of the ’70s, ’80s and ’90s, all packaged as a contemporary metal release, that’s Spirit Adrift in general and their new album ‘Enlightened By Eternity’ in specific. The new album is the forth one for the duo and the first one for Century Media, featuring eight new songs that act as a musical time warp.

‘Ride Into the Light’ is an excellent choice for starting an album. A very rhythm-driven verse turns into a powering chorus, all tied together by a good sense for melodies and blistering solo parts.

That Dio’s ‘Holy Diver’ is no stranger to Spirit Adrift is what ‘Astral Levitation’ brings to forefront. More than once parallels to the iconic song are recognisable, especially when it comes to the basic riff of the track.

‘Cosmic Conquest’ starts with a booming bassline that defines the entire song. Spirit Adrift is inspired by the earlier days of heavy metal without sounding retro or old-fashioned, something that’s also reflected by the faster paced ‘Harmony of the Spheres’. It’s not that the guys push the pedal hard all the time. There are moderate moments too, before a break shifts gears again.

The band keeps a highlight for finishing off ‘Enlightened By Eternity’ ‘Reunited in the Void’ is a ten minutes epos with a start that makes you feel like being surrounded by eternity and outer space. Slowly and steady, beat and riffs fill the void. An acoustic part half way down the road provides a well-placed twist that emphasises the feeling of being surrounded by an endless void. Slowly the Dio-ish riff is returning, all together making this song to a great closure of an album that fuses oldschool and zeitgeist.

Fans with a musical imprint in the rock/metal from ‘70s and especially’80s should check out the new album from Nate Garrett and Marcus Bryant. ‘Enlightened By Eternity’, that 100% trend-free music, being a matter of heart more than peering hard at hypes and sold copies.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Ride Into The Light
  2. Astral Levitation
  3. Cosmic Conquest
  4. Screaming From Beyond
  5. Harmony Of The Spheres
  6. Battle High
  7. Stronger Than Your Pain
  8. Reunited In The Void

Label: Century Media

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: October 16th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: