CD review DEAD LORD ‘Surrender’

Dead Lord had to go through some changes and challenges since having released with ‘In Ignorance We Trust’ their acclaimed third longplayer. The fact that guitarist Olle Hedenström parted ways with the band led to some line-up adjustments with Martin Nordin taking over the guitar while the band added with Ryan Kemp a new bassist to the Dead Lord family.

After the dust settled, the new album ‘Surrender’ comes into the picture clearly and right away I can state, the guys continue with their grooving cruise through the sonic landscapes of Rock and Metal. Inspired by the sound of bands like Thin Lizzy, the quartet presents songs like ‘Authority’, being a superb song on ‘Surrender’ and it’s ‘Messin’ Up’ bringing a smooth groove to the plate.

The song that leads-off the album is called ‘Distance Over Time’, a faster-paced and rocking tune that sets the tone of voice for ‘Surrender’ in a good way. Furious guitars, a thundering rhythm section and excellent vocals can be enjoyed not only while listening to the opener but also when diving into songs like ‘Dark End of the Rainbow’ and powering closer ‘Dystopia’.

Dead Lord don’t surrender with ‘Surrender’. The new album showcases a band that follows their musical heart and soul with songs that have the potential to bring some light into dark days as well as they can feed the rebellious spirit of others. I think that’s what we call Rock’n’Roll.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Distance Over Time
  2. Letter From Allen St.
  3. Authority
  4. Evil Always Wins
  5. Messin’ Up
  6. Dark End of The Rainbow
  7. Bridges
  8. The Loner’s Ways
  9. Gonna Get Me
  10. Dystopia

Label: Century Media

Genre: Classic Rock / Hard Rock

Release Date EU: September 4th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: