CD review VANISHING POINT ‘Dead Elysium’

Australian Metal command Vanishing Point are, with a foundation date in the early ‘90s, a band that delivers Melodic Metal since many years. The debut ‘In Thought’ was released in 1997 and since then the band added four more records to their track record. The latest release though was a while ago, six years ago to be precise. Work on ‘Dead Elysium’ was scheduled to begin in 2016 but private and health issues over the last years forced a later clocking in for working in the longplayer. Everything came to a good end and Vanishing Point return refreshed with ‘Dead Elysium’ these days.

Three songs of the new album have seen the light of day already as singles, being an appetizer for the full-length release. The epic title track was the first tune that powerfully announced Vanishing Point’s return. A heavy riff, orchestral elements and Massaro’s well-done vocals clearly stated that the Australian quintet is back with full force. ‘Salvus’ and ‘Count Your Days’, the earlier being a melodic and more symphonic Metal track, strengthened the positive first impression that’s now completed with an album that picks things up where the band left off six years ago.

Songs in general became a bit longer this time with many of them being framed between six and seven minutes. Since the five-piece band from Down Under has enough creativity at hand none of the tunes feels lengthy or repetitive. Fans of Melodic Power Metal will get instead an hour of well-crafted music offered by Vanishing Point, songs that live certainly up to expectation. ‘Dead Elysium’ is a well done record that’s entertaining and has a lot of headbanging anthems on the track listing. Vanishing Point is back and that’s what the album states very clearly.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Dead Elysium
  2. Count Your Days
  3. To the Wolves
  4. Salvus
  5. The Fall
  6. Free
  7. Recreate the Impossible
  8. Shadow World
  9. The Healing
  10. The Ocean

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Melodic Metal

Release Date EU: August 28th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: