CD review INCANTATION ‘Sect of Vile Divinities’

A Death Metal band with a foundation date in 1989 can be seriously looked at as being pioneers of a genre. It was a time when Obituary premiered and Morbid Angel unveiled there ‘Altars of Madness’ debut. Although not becoming that well-known as the Florida Death Metal branch, Incantation started their Metal adventure with a debut called ‘Onward to Golgotha’ in 1991 and added new material over time.

Almost three decades after having premiered, Incantation is mainly driven by founding member John McEntee, who is together with longterm musical partner Kyle Severn the stable part of the line-up, which also includes bassist Chuck Sherwood who joined in 2008. Last but not least and not to forget Sonny Lombardozzi on second guitar, providing extra riffpower.

‘Sect of Vile Divinities’ is Incantation’s twelves longplayer and it’s a next Metal assault from Pennsylvania. Twelve songs represent a wider range of Death Metal sounds, from fast and savage (‘Guardians from the Primeval’, ‘Chant of Formless Dread’) to slow and deadly (‘Ignis Fatuus’). Also to mention ‘Shadow-Blade Masters of Tempest and Maelstrom’. The song’s a merciless and thundering smasher that unveils its evil by deep growls and menacing riffs, not to forget the howling guitars during the solo parts.

‘Sect of Vile Divinities’ is a sinister and brute Death Metal album. The veterans of Incantation doesn’t allow age to put a foot on the musical breaks. What counts for the quartet is to realize their musical vision instead of serving trends and hypes. ‘Sect of Vile Divinities’ is brutal, deadly and oldschool. Or in other words, 100% Incantation.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Ritual Impurity (Seven Of The Sky Is One) 
  2. Propitiation 
  3. Entrails Of The Hag Queen 
  4. Guardians From The Primeval
  5. Black Fathom’s Fire 
  6. Ignis Fatuus 
  7. Chant Of Formless Dread 
  8. Shadow-Blade Masters Of Tempest And Maelstrom 
  9. Scribes Of The Stygian 
  10. Unborn Ambrosia 
  11. Fury’s Manifesto 
  12. Siege Hive

Label: Relapse Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: August 21st, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: