CD review REDEMPTION ‘Alive in Colour’

Redemption is the brainchild of guitarist Nick van Dyk who founded the band in 2000. The self-titled debut was unleashed in 2003, but it was the second longplayer, which led to some extra attention. Very well-crafted progressive Metal is the trademark of Redemption and no less than Fates Warning’s Ray Alder was the ‘voice’ of the band until 2015.

After Alder left, van Dyk could find a replacer that could handle the footsteps of the former frontman. Everygrey’s Tom S. Englund took over vocal duties and after a first studio album in the adjusted line-up a live release follows these days.

‘Live in Colours’ was recorded in 2018 at ProgPower USA and contains the entire set. With five songs, the latest studio album is very well present but the setlist included much more. The mentioned sophomore record ‘The Fullness of Time’ contributed with one song, ‘Threads’, performed by no less than Ray Alder himself.

While mentioning guest appearances, there is more to report. Former Megadeth guitarist Chris Poland performed together with Redemption for two songs. One is ‘Indulge in Colour’ from the latest release and the second song is a Megadeth cover. ‘Peace Sells (But Who’s Buying)’ brought some Thrash Metal to the plate. Although the track loses a bit of its aggressiveness, it’s a good interpretation of the Megadeth smasher.

Redemption, that’s melody-based Metal with more than just one layer. After “Live From the Pit’, released in 2014, van Dyk and his musical companions add a next live recording to their list of achievements. Fans of well-done and powerful Prog Metal will like this album that shows again why Redemption are an important contributor in this genre.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Noonday Devil
  2. The Suffocating Silence
  3. The Echo Chamber
  4. Damaged
  5. Someone Else’s Problem
  6. Little Men
  7. Long Nigh’s Journey Into Day
  8. Threads (feat. Ray Alder)
  9. Black & White World
  10. Indulge in Colours (feat. Chris Poland)
  11. Peace Sells (But Who’s Buying) (feat. Chris Poland)
  12. Walls
  13. Threads (feat. Tom Englund)
  14. The Fullness of Time Part 3

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Melodic Progressive Metal

Release Date EU: August 28th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: