CD review VICIOUS RUMORS ‘Celebration Decay’

Vicious Rumors is known for a lot of things but certainly not for a consistent line-up. The number of musical contributors that supported Geoff Thorpe in achieving his musical vision of Metal is countless and also the new album features new members.

This time it is lead vocalist Nick Courtney and guitarist Gunnar Dügrey who have been part of the recording of the album. Both have been on the ‚Digital Dictator‘ anniversary tour and now became also part of the studio line-up. With drum veterans Larry Howe, the current band has a constant factor too, providing a strong heartbeat to ‚Celebration Decay‘ together with Robin Utbult, handling the bass this time.

It seem like the ‚Digital Dictator‘ anniversary tour left some traces since the new album has quite some references to the earlier highlights of the band. The racing fast title track states this very well and makes also clear to everybody, that the quintet has no intention to take prisoners. Courtney‘s vocals are certainly an excellent addition to Vicious Rumors‘ sound since he can handle melodies in the same good way as he brings an aggressiveness to the mix in moments he adds edges to his voice. 

The typical Vicious Rumors trademarks are also the base for ‚Pulse of the Dead‘ and ‚Arrival of Desolation‘, both excellent Metal hymns. The thundering ‚Collision Course Dead’ is a next track I can recommend. The muderous guitar riff that leads off the song is stellar and also the rest of the track shows the beauty of Heavy Metal with well-crafted vocal lines and furious guitars.

‘Death Eternal’ has a bit of a Judas Priest spirit, while ‘Darkness Divine’ shows a new aspect in Vicious Rumors musical repertoire. Starting dark, acoustic and calm, the track shows the band moving towards new musical territory. If the song paves the way for a slightly different sound in the future is what time will tell. Here and now we can conclude that the songs a cool grooving one. There’s some depth embedded and there is also sufficient riffpower, but there are more aggressive smashers on ‘Celebration Decay’.

Vicious Rumors’ new album brings a lot of good Metal to the plate. Although there is with ‘Long WayHome’ a more standard track a part of the tracklist too, the record offers enough solid headbanging material to spread delight amongst metal heads. The early classics like ‘Digital Dictator’ and ‘Soldiers of the Night’ stay untouched, but there is enough of an old school spirit that helps to create a liveliness and dynamic. Vicious Rumors in 2020 lives up to expectation and that’s certainly good enough.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Celebration Decay
  2. Pulse Of The Dead
  3. Arrival Of Desolation
  4. Any Last Words
  5. Asylum Of Blood
  6. Darkness Divine
  7. Long Way Home
  8. Cold Blooded
  9. Death Eternal
  10. Collision Course Disaster
  11. Masquerade Of Good Intentions

Label: Steamhammer

Genre: Power Metal

Release Date EU: August 21st, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: