CD review LONELY ROBOT ‘Feeling Are Good’

John Mitchell is certainly no stranger when it comes to sophisticated Rock music. As guitarist, singer, keyboarder and songwriter, Mitchell has worked with bands like Arena, Frost* and others in the past and also as producer & mixer Mitchell has made a name for himself. One project, however, is closely linked to the name John Mitchell and it is called Lonely Robot.

Lonely Robot is John Mitchell pure and with 100%. The musician plays all instruments himself, except the drums, recorded by Craig Blundell, and is of course responsible for the songs also.

Lonely Robot started with a trilogy that began with ‘Please Come Home’ in 2015 and ended with ‘Under Stars’ last year. After having unleashed the final chapter it was not clear at that time, if this was in parallel the end of the project.

One year later we know more. The project of Lonely Robot continues with a next round, but this time more down-to-earth. While ‘The Astronaut Trilogy’ had an outer space character, the new album ‘Feeling Are Good’ is a very personal one. Mitchell focuses on individual experiences and milestones in his life, good and bad moments, but all influential.

Musically the album underlines the narrative with 11 songs being soulful tunes that reflect emotional depth as well as a certain ease. It’s not the loud rifs that dominate. Instead, it is the sophisticated song structures, gentle sounds and timbres that create a bigger total done with love for detail.

‘Feeling Are Good’ is an album that is best enjoyed on a grey and rainy Sunday on the sofa with headphones on. This album proves musical sustainability instead of being easy-consumable musical fast food.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Feelings Are Good
  2. Into The Lo-Fi
  3. Spiders
  4. Crystalline
  5. Life Is A Sine Wave
  6. Armour For My Heart
  7. Suburbia
  8. The Silent Life
  9. Keeping People As Pets
  10. Army Of One
  11. Grief Is The Price Of Love
  12. The Silent Life (Orchestral Version) (Bonus Track)
  13. Crystalline (Orchestral Version) (Bonus Track)

Label: Inside Out Music

Genre: Rock

Release Date EU: July 17th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hard Rock Hardrock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: