CD review PROTEST THE HERO ‘Palimpsest’

Protest The Hero’s new offer is a complex album. Complexity in itself isn’t something bad but the portion that’s offered by the four Canadians demands an effort from the listener. ‘Modern’, ‘Metal’, ‘Alternative’ and ‘Progressive’ are the key terms that describe the album best.

When I listened to the album the first time a got the description of ‘candy shop on rage’ came to my mind. On the one hand Protest The Hero has catchy, partly sticking melodies, while the furious outburst, like on ‘Gardenias’, reflects total different aspect. Together with a progressive approach when it comes to song structure the guys are ahead of themselves more than once. A reason for this might be the rather long writing and recording process that at least challenged the flow and the continuity.

‘Palimpsest’ sound due to this scattered and fragmented. The moment you get into a song, things take a u-turn which interrupts the flow on the album. From softer and acoustic parts to growls on ‘Soliloquy’ you find basically everything on this album, a bit too much. Last but not least I had to get used to the high-pitch singing and screams of frontman Rody Walker. As he describes, doing the album was real work since just before the start of the recordings he blew his voice out and it took hard work to get it back.

If the band would be rather new I would say that they are on road to an own identity. Now, since Protest The Hero is around for many years this explanation doesn’t work and it’s probably more the mentioned distractions that made it harder to get this album done. However, the production is excellent and powerful sounds also adds a lot to the picture.

All in all ‘Palimpsest’ is a wild ride and you might want to take the challenge.

Rating: 6 out of 10.


  1. The Migrant Mother
  2. The Canary
  3. From the Sky
  4. All Hands
  5. The Fireside
  6. Soliloquy
  7. Reverie
  8. Little Snakes
  9. Gardenias
  10. Rivet

Label: Fearless Records

Genre: Progressive Modern Metal(core)

Release Date EU: June 19th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: