With ‘Verminous’ The Black Dahlia Murder introduces already their ninth longplayer in nearly 20 years. Three years after ‘Nightbringers’ brought its deadly groove to the plate it is the new longplayer that shows Detroit’s musical powerhouse again strong and wild.

Ten new songs have been selected for a good musical flow of the album, offering Death Metal that’s massive. with a rather stable line-up that’s a pretty strong factor for the quintet to fire their deadly riff attack.

The starting triple could have been chosen much better, reflecting exactly what you want and what you will get with this longplayer. The Black Dahlia Murder isn’t reinventing their trademarks and why should they. Harsh riff, some melodic leads and hoarse vocals is what the band builds their sound on and things didn’t change on ‘Verminous’. Most of the ten tracks are furious ones. However, with all the brutality embedded in each of the songs the album sounds nuanced and structure. An example is ‘The Leather Apron’s Scorn’. The song comes with a massive start and vocals that lean over to Black Metal. What shows the smartness of the five-piece band is the break along the way when slower parts create a well-placed counterpart to the merciless blasts.

‘The Wereworm’s Feast’ shows the melodic aspect of The Black Dahlia Murder too, at least when it comes to some guitar lines. A blistering solo comes with the song too, all weaved into an aggressive Metal track, showing a band at work that still has a hunger for robust Metal. ‘Verminous’, a headbanger’s delight.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Verminous
  2. Godlessly
  3. Removal of the Oaken Stake
  4. Child of Night
  5. Sunless Empire
  6. The Leather Apron’s Scorn
  7. How Very Dead
  8. The Wereworm’s Feast
  9. A Womb in Dark Chrysalis (Interlude)
  10. Dawn of Rats

Label: Metal Blade Records

Genre: Death Metal

Release Date EU: April 17th, 2020



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: