CD review AUGUST BURNS RED 'Guardians'

August Burns Red’s lyrical concept behind ‘Guardians’ became much more relevant than what the band maybe had in mind when starting work on the new album. Guitarist Brent Rambler describes the album title as addressing “a loose theme of being there for another person who’s reaching out for help. This individual who saves the day acts like a guardian.” These guardians are more relevant than ever these days.

‘Guardians’ is August Burns Red’s eighth longplayer, a power-pack with eleven new songs and the band spent more time than usual for the newest delivery. ‘Guardians’ was done in two separate recording sessions. and still the record doesn’t sound fragmented. It’s a Metalcore monolith with the split recording session allowing for the extra creativity and attention to detail.

‘Defender’ was the first song the band wrote for the new album and has been revealed as a single early February. It’s a massive song, one of the heaviest August Burns Red ever wrote. Nevertheless, it has some nicely placed twists that adds variety to the track.

You might have also listened to ‘Bones’ already, unveiled as a single a few weeks ago. Raging Metalcore, screams and some melodic guitar lines unit on this track, being a well-selected single release that represents ‘Guardians in a good fashion.

Another song I can recommend is entitled ‘Lighthouse’. A mighty wall of guitars is one element of this track that also includes a calmer moment in the second half. Narrative vocals slowly turn into screams again, helping the song to unleash the aggressive energy again. Good stuff.

August Burns Red’s new album is a solid one with good songs and a dense sound. The quintet builds on their strength rather than reinventing their music, meaning that the album certainly lives up to expectation.. Fans of the band will be pleased with what they get offered.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. The Narrative
  2. Bones
  3. Paramount
  4. Defender
  5. Lighthouse
  6. Dismembered Memory
  7. Ties That Bind
  8. Bloodletter
  9. Extinct by Instinct
  10. Empty Heaven
  11. Three Fountains

Label: Fearless Records

Genre: Metalcore

Release Date EU: April 3rd, 2020



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: