CD review AMBUSH ‘Infidel’

Oskar Jacobsson (vocals), Olof Engkvist (guitar), Adam Hagelin (guitar), Ludwig Sjöholm (bass) and Linus Fritzson (drums), also known as Ambush, released their demo in 2013. German High Roller Records took notice of the five Swedes, a deal was inked and work on a first full-length album started.

‚Firestorm‘ was the debut and 2020 is the year of Ambush releasing already their third longplayer, still through High Roller Records. ‚Infidel‘ is the title of this 10 songs featuring Heavy Metal treat, showcasing a band that put a lot of blood, sweat and tears into their music.

The quintet wrote many songs over the last years, trying to bridge their passion for traditional Heavy Metal with a modern expression. If they succeeded with this challenge, I don’t know. What I do know though is that ‚Infidel‘ contains excellent Heavy Metal songs, played with a lot of dedication. Ambush didn’t change anything when it comes to their musical compass. The needle strongly shows towards the ’70s and ’80s, a time when Metal heroes of the NWoBHM gained momentum. Bands like Iron Maiden that certainly influenced songs like ‚Leave Them to Die‘ and also Accept records have been pinned for sure a few times (‚Yperite‘). 

The good thing is that the five-piece powerhouse has enough of an own identity to convince headbangers with dynamic Metal songs of which ‚A Silent Killer‘ is one of. Twin guitars and Jacobsson’s Metal siren vocals are a delight for everybody that had a metallic music imprint in the ’80s. 

‚Infidel‘ is a ear-candy for metalheads that rate a solid riff and good melody over high speed and deep growls. This album is pure Heavy Metal, a thundering experience that deserves more than just one spin.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Infidel 
  2. Yperite 
  3. Leave Them to Die 
  4. Hellbiter 
  5. The Summoning
  6. The Demon Within 
  7. A Silent Killer
  8. Iron Helm of War
  9. Heart of Stone
  10. Lust for Blood 

Label: High Roller Record

Genre: Heavy Metal

Release Date EU: March 13th, 2020


AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: