CD review SUICIDE SILENCE ‘Become the Hunter’

Life of the five musicians of Suicide Silence left quite some scars in the individual vitas with the loss of their frontman Mitch Lucker in 2012, due to a motorcycle accident, being seriously a deep one. It took a while to process this situation and a year later it was clear that the band will continue with a new frontman. Eddie Hermida’s voice could be heard on a new recording of ‘Yu Only Live Once’ and a couple of days later he was confirmed as new frontman of the California-based quintet.

It was a lot of willpower that brought Suicide Silence to where they are today as a band, being a spearhead when it comes to Deathcore. Honestly, the genre isn’t my main field of expertise, but what fascinates me with Suicide Silence is the energy they transport with their songs.

‘Become the Hunter’ is already their sixth record in a 13 years history and it’s an amazing one. Hoarse screams and deep growls is what makes each of the songs to a blood-curdling one but what lifts ‘Become the Hunter’ to a really cool album is the variations the guys add to their songs. There aren’t many records that contain as contrasty songs as we get offered by Suicide Silence. Tracks like ‘Skin Tight’ and ‘Two Steps’ showcases a band that understood how to amplify brute and heavy moments by calmer parts that sound like a peaceful contrast, a moment to breathe before the next sonic inferno takes its course. However, the sonic neck-breakers, like in Hiding’, stand for the majority of songs, showcasing a band that found back to their roots.

Next to the musical quality of these Extreme Metal songs it’s the sound of ‘Become the Hunter’ that is convincing. A powerful, nuanced and clear production with Steve Evetts (who also did ‘The Black Crown’) at the helm is what empowers the intensity and makes Suicide Silence’s newest release stick out from the masses.

Like mentioned, Deathcore isn’t where my musical home is. However, I like what I get offered by Suicide Silence’s new album and I can recommend to give it a try although you might prefer other genres in Metal. You might like what gets out of you speaker.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Meltdown
  2. Two Steps
  3. Feel Alive
  4. Love Me to Death
  5. In Hiding
  6. Death’s Anxiety
  7. Skin Tight
  8. The Scythe
  9. Serene Obscene
  10. Disaster Valley
  11. Become the Hunter

Label: Nuclear Blast

Genre: Deathcore

Release Date EU: February 14th, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: