CD review SHAKRA ‘Mad World’

It really feels like a mad world we are living in these days, one of the reasons why Swiss rockers Shakra entitled their new longplayer simply ‘Mad World’. Now, what sounds like a depressive view on the current state of the blue planet is actually the opposite.

‘Mad World’ features 12 new songs that carries a positive vibe, which makes you forget any trouble and problems of daily life. Although Mark Fox, Thom Blunier, Thomas Muster, Dominik Pfister and Roger Tanner thematise topics of the mad world (‘Fake News’ and ‘Too Much is Not Enough’), they wrap it in catchy Rock songs with a great swing.

Shakra has a good sense for rock-solid melodies that stick to ones mind right away. Aready during the first spin of the album tracks like ‘When He Comes Around’ unveil their pure Rock’n’Roll power. With having all the harmonies in place, the quintet doesn’t forget to add a solid portion of heaviness to each of the tunes also. The grooving ‘When It All Falls Down’ and the mighty ‘Son of Fire’ are just two examples with guitars being in the lead.

After being part of the music circus for 25 years, Shakra’s still not tired of writing and recording good music that’s enthralling and cool. 8 points go to Switzerland.

Rating: 8 out of 10.


  1. Fireline
  2. Too Much is Not Enough
  3. A Roll of the Dice
  4. Mad World
  5. When He Comes Around
  6. Thousand Kings
  7. Still Rock
  8. Fake News
  9. When it All Falls Down
  10. Turn the Light On
  11. Son of Fire
  12. New Tomorrow

Label: AFM Records

Genre: Hard Rock

Release Date EU: February 28th, 2020



Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑