CD review A LIFE DIVIDED ‘Echoes’

German synth-rocker A Life Divided premiered in 2003 and the latest two releases delivered success by entering the German longplayer charts. These moment are 5+ years back in time with ‚Human‘ having a release date in 2015.

With ‚Echoes‘ the wait comes to an end for fans. The new longplayer features a 13 songs tracklist, all extremely melodic reflected in Electro Rock, the musical imprint of the ‚80s that made more than an impression on the trio. 

‚Echoes‘ is an album that comes with an easy-listening vibe but also doesn’t deliver mind-blowing new aspects. Songs like ‚Confronted’ and ‚Rock’n’Roll Star‘ are nice songs, the latter even starting in a heavy fashion but without any Rock’n’Roll spirit. However, there isn’t enough firepower in each of these tunes. Also the few moments when guitar wins over synth aren’t adding a wow-effect to the total and with ‚Addicted‘ the line towards Pop is easily crossed.

It seems like the five years waiting time didn’t work in the band’s favour. ‚Echoes‘ became an average Electro-Rock album with a lot of Electro and a bit Rock. Although there’s with ‚Push‘ a song that has a bit of a drive these ‚Echoes‘ will fade away rather quickly or as the first track states: ‚Hello Emptiness‘.

Rating: 6 out of 10.


  1. Hello Emptiness
  2. Dry Your Eyes
  3. Addicted
  4. Confronted
  5. Enemy
  6. Rock’n’Roll Star
  7. Far
  8. Anybody Out There
  9. Push
  10. Servant
  11. The Ordinary
  12. Circles
  13. Forevermore

Label: AFM

Genre: Modern Rock

Release Date EU: January 31st, 2020



AFM Records Alternative Metal Alternative Rock Black Metal CD Review Century Media Classic Rock Dark Metal Death Metal Doom Metal Extreme Metal Festival Frontiers Music Hardcore Hardrock Hard Rock Heavy Metal Inside Out Music Live Live Album Live Report Melodic Death Metal Melodic Metal Melodic Power Metal Melodic Rock Metal Metal Blade MHMB Modern Metal News Nuclear Blast NWoBHM On Tour Power Metal Prog Metal Prog Rock Punk Rock Season Of Mist Speed Metal Symphonic Metal Thrash Metal Tour Tour Dates US Metal

Comments are closed.

Website Powered by

Up ↑

%d bloggers like this: